Posted by
Emily
comments (0)
I have never before been hiking in the winter. I get cold pretty easily and while I've thought it would be beautiful to do, I've never had the gear necessary to make me not freeze. Well, last week, I went hiking. In the snow. In jeans and thin socks and my normal shoes. Let me back up just a bit. I go to Knoxville to my alma mater, Johnson Bible College, every year for Homecoming. I love Homecoming. It's loads of fun. Now that Tony is a student at JBC, I went a few days early and stayed a few days late. Homecoming started Tuesday night, was all day Wednesday and ended on Thursday at noon. After lunch and a nap, Tony, Josh and I headed to the mountains.
There's a great overlook on the Gatlinburg Bypass that I love to stop at. You can totally tell the difference between Tony and I--Tony's just in a T-shirt and button down and I'm wear my hat, scarf, gloves, coat and have a fleece on underneath! What can I say? I get cold easily!
We originally planned on going to the Comedy Barn and doing some shopping. But, the Comedy Barn wasn't doing a show that night and we had the whole afternoon, so to the mountains we went! We got to the Sugarlands Visitor's Center and saw that the road to Newfound Gap, our original destination, was closed because of snow and ice. Bummer dude. Newfound is gorgeous:

We originally planned on going to the Comedy Barn and doing some shopping. But, the Comedy Barn wasn't doing a show that night and we had the whole afternoon, so to the mountains we went! We got to the Sugarlands Visitor's Center and saw that the road to Newfound Gap, our original destination, was closed because of snow and ice. Bummer dude. Newfound is gorgeous:
I was really looking forward to seeing it in the snow, but that was not to be. So, we pointed the car towards Cades Cove to see what we could see.
We stopped at an overlook and got these pretty pictures:
Then we saw a sign for Laurel Falls. I have a thing for waterfalls. And ever since Tony and I hiked Burgess Falls State Park in August, I've wanted to do more. And when he decided to transfer to JBC, I knew that I wanted to make it a loose goal of ours to visit all of the waterfalls in the Smokies. Laurel Falls is one of the more well known waterfalls in the Smokies. There's a 1.3 mile trail to the waterfall that is paved, so it's pretty easy. I asked if we could go and the boys were up for it, so we parked the car and headed into the mountains. The Smokies are beautiful any time, but I think they are especially pretty in the winter. I'd never seen them covered in snow, but it was incredible. I'll let the pictures speak for themselves:
It was a great hike and we had a blast! I was cold, but mostly okay. My shoes were pretty wet, but I peeled them off and stuck my toes under the heater and that dried my socks quickly. It was definitely worth it. I look forward to many more winter hikes!
Labels:
hiking
,
waterfalls
Posted by
Emily
comments (0)
So I have this weird problem of writing blog posts in my mind, but never really sitting down and writing them out. Oops. I have so much to blog about: My 28th year of life, turning 29, hiking to Laurel Falls with Tony and Josh, Homecoming, a life well lived. I'm going to start catching up. You'll see lots of posts here as I make each event a separate post. Just helps me organize it better.
Starting this one, I want to look back at my 28th year of life. I'm gonna be honest and venture that it was the best year of my life. There were definite hard parts. Nearly cutting my finger off on March 16, 2008 and having to have surgery and then 6 weeks of therapy was not fun. It's been almost a year and I still have swelling and pain issues. They'll be there the rest of my life according to the doc. For the record...putty knives are evil. I still have a near panic attack when it's my week to mop the men's bathroom at the office. Not fun. And two weeks of jury duty...Blech. But there were a lot of really amazing parts...getting pied for missions at VBS and camp, rock climbing and zip lining and getting stuck way up at the top of the Y swing at camp, meeting Tony and watching him grow, my family reunion in August, spending time with Tony's family in October. And we can't forget my trip to Japan and Thailand in September. Or the many weddings that I coordinated. Or my best friend Heather's wedding on Oct. 3. It was a great year.
Perhaps the best part of the year is that I really feel like I've come into my own. I love my job and am really good at it. I am challenged and stretched by God on an almost daily basis. I've had a renewed passion for those who don't know Jesus bubble up out of me and drive my decisions for my future. I've hit my stride. I'm so glad that I spent year 28 figuring those things out. I think I'm just more comfortable in my own skin.
So many people dread turning 29 and then 30. I rejoice in it. I relish it. I welcome it. My 20s have been full of figuring out who I am and who God is and what He wants for me. Now that I have that part a bit more nailed down, I am excited about my 30s. They're gonna be incredible! So, the big 3-0...Bring It On! And until it gets here, I'm going to enjoy the heck out of 29. :)
Starting this one, I want to look back at my 28th year of life. I'm gonna be honest and venture that it was the best year of my life. There were definite hard parts. Nearly cutting my finger off on March 16, 2008 and having to have surgery and then 6 weeks of therapy was not fun. It's been almost a year and I still have swelling and pain issues. They'll be there the rest of my life according to the doc. For the record...putty knives are evil. I still have a near panic attack when it's my week to mop the men's bathroom at the office. Not fun. And two weeks of jury duty...Blech. But there were a lot of really amazing parts...getting pied for missions at VBS and camp, rock climbing and zip lining and getting stuck way up at the top of the Y swing at camp, meeting Tony and watching him grow, my family reunion in August, spending time with Tony's family in October. And we can't forget my trip to Japan and Thailand in September. Or the many weddings that I coordinated. Or my best friend Heather's wedding on Oct. 3. It was a great year.
Perhaps the best part of the year is that I really feel like I've come into my own. I love my job and am really good at it. I am challenged and stretched by God on an almost daily basis. I've had a renewed passion for those who don't know Jesus bubble up out of me and drive my decisions for my future. I've hit my stride. I'm so glad that I spent year 28 figuring those things out. I think I'm just more comfortable in my own skin.
So many people dread turning 29 and then 30. I rejoice in it. I relish it. I welcome it. My 20s have been full of figuring out who I am and who God is and what He wants for me. Now that I have that part a bit more nailed down, I am excited about my 30s. They're gonna be incredible! So, the big 3-0...Bring It On! And until it gets here, I'm going to enjoy the heck out of 29. :)
Posted by
Emily
comments (0)
Tonight's dinner party was a success! I made several things I had never done before: Homemade caramel sauce, homemade whipped cream and homemade marinara sauce. So very very good. The caramel apple cheesecake was incredible and I definitely heard people say that it was the best they'd ever had. I take joy in the fact that my kitchen is clean thanks to Rusty and Lauren who loaded my dishwasher and then washed the rest of the dishes by hand. What a blessing they were for that! I have LOADS of leftovers (apparently, I made enough for 15, not 10!) and am looking forward to eating on them the rest of the week. Yum.
I had to do errands today after church, so I headed off. As I was driving, the biggest most beautiful snowflakes started falling. They were incredible. I walked in and out of Staples with my tongue out, catching as many as I could! When was the last time you did that? I turn 29 in one week and am very proud to act like I'm about to turn 9. It keeps me young. I love finding joy in the little things...clean dishes, giant snowflakes, friends laughing over Italian food and a glass of wine. What little things do you find joy in?
I had to do errands today after church, so I headed off. As I was driving, the biggest most beautiful snowflakes started falling. They were incredible. I walked in and out of Staples with my tongue out, catching as many as I could! When was the last time you did that? I turn 29 in one week and am very proud to act like I'm about to turn 9. It keeps me young. I love finding joy in the little things...clean dishes, giant snowflakes, friends laughing over Italian food and a glass of wine. What little things do you find joy in?
Posted by
Emily
comments (0)
Tomorrow night is my small group. And since it's Valentine's Day, we're having a special dinner. I decided to go with Italian and then narrowed it to chicken parmesan this week. The recipe I have calls for the chicken breasts to be butterflied, or cut in half horizontally. Kroger has signs up saying that they'll cut any meat your way, so I was hoping they could do the chicken for me. Which meant that I had to go during the day when the meat counter was open. Which meant I needed to go on a Saturday. I normally go to the stores late at night...like 10pm. There's no one there, I can move quickly and it's nice and quiet. Today was a madhouse! Not only is it a Saturday, but it's the day before Valentine's Day and all of those men who have procrastinated on getting flowers for their sweethearts were lined up at the floral desk. And we're supposed to have another big storm hit tomorrow night, so people were in stocking up. Pure craziness. I doubt that I'll ever go back during the day. It's just not worth it to me.
Besides the chicken parm, I'm making a salad and we're having garlic bread. One of the girls in the group is bringing chocolate cake, but I also wanted something that was not as chocolatey. The recipe for Caramel Apple Cheesecake on Annie's Eats fit the bill perfectly. Annie encouraged readers to make their own caramel sauce and whipped topping. I had never made either, but decided it was cheaper and would taste better. The caramel sauce was very easy...3 ingredients and stir constantly. And boy is it yummy! Then, I had to crush graham crackers, mix with butter, sugar and cinnamon and press into my springform pan. I bought the springform pan almost a year ago via Pampered Chef and had never gotten to use it. I was very excited to try it out! So, graham cracker crust, then caramel and pecans, then sliced baked apples. I love my apple corer/peeler/slicer. That thing is incredible. It looks like this one:
Makes the job go so much faster and is way easy. That all got baked and while it was baking in the oven, I started the sugar cookies. I admit that I used a mix, but it was a Christmas gift from Tony's sister and her kids, so I needed to use it. I made hearts with my wonderful metal heart cookie cutter. I greatly prefer metal cookie cutters. I think they have a much cleaner line. After I rested for a while, I needed to work some potatoes I had that were getting ready to go bad. So, I peeled, diced and cooked about 12 cups of potatoes. I also love my vegetable chopper that my ex's mom gave me. It's seriously the gadget I probably use the most in my house. No kidding. Mine came from Williams Sonoma, but I know other places sell them. Here it is:

If you don't yet have one of these suckers, go get one. Today. I bought one for my mom and she turned around and bought one for my aunt. It's amazing. I also want the multi-chopper, but that's another story. :)
Finally, gold. The US won it's first gold medal today! Yay USA! Beyond our gold in women's moguls, it was great to see Apolo Ohno and JR Celski in men's short track speed skating. It was a great night for the US. And Celski's story is incredible. In September, after qualifying for the Olympic team, his skate blade sliced his thigh and he had to have 66 stitches to close the wound. Tonight was the first he had competed since and he took the bronze! And Ohno has tied Bonnie Blair for medals with 6 after his silver from tonight. Overall, it was a good day. A great day. Hope you had a good one!
Besides the chicken parm, I'm making a salad and we're having garlic bread. One of the girls in the group is bringing chocolate cake, but I also wanted something that was not as chocolatey. The recipe for Caramel Apple Cheesecake on Annie's Eats fit the bill perfectly. Annie encouraged readers to make their own caramel sauce and whipped topping. I had never made either, but decided it was cheaper and would taste better. The caramel sauce was very easy...3 ingredients and stir constantly. And boy is it yummy! Then, I had to crush graham crackers, mix with butter, sugar and cinnamon and press into my springform pan. I bought the springform pan almost a year ago via Pampered Chef and had never gotten to use it. I was very excited to try it out! So, graham cracker crust, then caramel and pecans, then sliced baked apples. I love my apple corer/peeler/slicer. That thing is incredible. It looks like this one:
If you don't yet have one of these suckers, go get one. Today. I bought one for my mom and she turned around and bought one for my aunt. It's amazing. I also want the multi-chopper, but that's another story. :)
Finally, gold. The US won it's first gold medal today! Yay USA! Beyond our gold in women's moguls, it was great to see Apolo Ohno and JR Celski in men's short track speed skating. It was a great night for the US. And Celski's story is incredible. In September, after qualifying for the Olympic team, his skate blade sliced his thigh and he had to have 66 stitches to close the wound. Tonight was the first he had competed since and he took the bronze! And Ohno has tied Bonnie Blair for medals with 6 after his silver from tonight. Overall, it was a good day. A great day. Hope you had a good one!
Posted by
Emily
comments (0)
I love the winter olympics. Some people just think that they're okay, but I really love the winter Olympics. I love figure skating and moguls and speed skating and bobsled and luge and skeleton and snow jumping and curling. Yes, even curling. I love it all. I track the medal count online. I feel great pride every time I hear the National Anthem being played when one of our guys gets a medal. And I am proud to be an American. I look forward to what these games are going to mean for our country. Our sense of pride. Our unity as one nation. I think we can all use some good news and some cheer. So come on Team USA! Let's rock it out!
Posted by
Emily
comments (0)
I've wanted to start a blog for a while now. I used to blog. All the time. But I got away from it a year and a half ago and I've missed it. I've sort of turned facebook into a blog, but it's time to create a place where I can share more thoughts. I've named this blog Life...Joyfully because I always want to be live a joyful life. God has given us such an incredible life and place to live and I pray that I will always find joy in the everyday. In the mundane. In the small things. All I have to do is keep my eyes opened and I will not miss the joyous things that surround me.
So welcome. Is your life joyful? Why not?
So welcome. Is your life joyful? Why not?
Labels:
Welcome
.jpg)